FOREST ENTOMOLOGISTS IN THE PRAIRIES REGION

The Prairies Region of the Canadian Forestry Service, with headquarters at Edmonton, Alberta, was created by the amalgamation of the Manitoba-Saskatchewan and the Alberta-Territories Regions. Most of the staff of the two former regions, located at Winnipeg, Manitoba and Calgary, Alberta, were consolidated in 1970 and housed in a recently completed building with excellent laboratory facilities, modern greenhouses and controlled temperature rooms on former University of Alberta property south of the main campus. Three forest entomologists were transferred from Winnipeg; Mr. W. G. H. Ives, head of the Forest Insect and Disease Survey; Mr. J. A. Muldrew, biological control studies of the larch sawfly, centered in the Whiteshell Field Station in Manitoba; and Dr. H. R. Wong, systematic studies on sawflies and other insects in the Prairies Region. Four forest entomologists were transferred from Calgary: Dr. R. W. Reid, Program Manager, Forest Protection Research of the Edmonton Laboratory; Dr. L. Safranyik, discipline adviser in entomology and head of an integrated study on the relation between lodgepole pine, the moun-tain pine beetle and its associated microorganisms; Dr. H. F. Cerezke, spruce budworm research, applied studies on wood borer control and silvicultural control of Hylobius root weevil; and Mr. R. E. Stevenson, now associated with forest appraisal surveys.

With Dr. Reid and Mr. Stevenson assuming new responsibilities, five persons are now actively engaged in forest entomology research in the Prairies Region. Some forest entomologists formerly with the Forest Research Laboratories at Winnipeg and Calgary were transferred to other establishments. These included Dr. R. J. Heron and Mr. H. A. Tripp, Forest Research Laboratory, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario; Dr. G. A. Bradley, Entomology Research Institute, Ottawa, Ontario; Dr. R. F. De Boo, Chemical Control Research Institute, Ottawa, Ontario; Dr. R. F. De Boo, Chemical Control Research Institute, Ottawa, Ontario; Dr. R. F. Shepherd, Forest Research Laboratory, Victoria, British Columbia; and Dr. A. Raske, Forest Research Laboratory, Saint John's, Newfoundland. Dr. G. N. Lanier, had been transferred to the Entomology Research Institute but chose to join the staff of the School of Forestry, University of Syracuse, Syracuse, New York. Dr. W. J. Turnock was appointed a science advisor to the Privy Council office, Science Secretariat, Ottawa, Ontario. Mr. N. R. Brandt went to the Board of Grain Commissioners for Canada, Winnipeg, Manitoba. Mr. J. A. Garland, temporarily with Manitoba Museum of Man and Nature, Winnipeg, Manitoba, plans to continue post-graduate studies.

The scientific staff of the Prairies Region extends a cordial invitation to colleagues and other interested persons to visit their new laboratory when they are in the Edmonton area. An official opening of the new laboratory is planned for the near future at which time brochures will be available for distribution to interested parties.

H. R. Wong

EMPLOYMENT COMMITTEE

This new committee is chaired by Dr. S. R. Loschiavo, C.D.A., 25 Dafoe Rd., Winnipeg 19, Manitoba, and includes Dr. S. C. Jay, Winnipeg and Mr. L. A. O. Roadhouse, Ottawa. Besides studying the employment situation, the committee is considering the establishment of a job placement service. Watch for further announcements in the Bulletin.